Monday, October 25, 2021

Baja California moves to Daylight Savings Time on Sunday

The northern half of the peninsula changes time this coming Sunday and it could get even more confusing if California has its way

Most of the United States along with several northern border states of Mexico will move their clocks forward early Sunday morning in the annual springtime ritual of changing to Daylight Savings Time.

The change is a bit confusing in Mexico as most of the country still follows a different time change pattern, making the change to Daylight Savings on April 4th of this year.

That includes Baja California Sur so from this Sunday, March 14th until Saturday, April 3rd, the entire peninsula will be on the same time.

Marijuana Legalization in Mexico passes Congress

And the very same situation will happen again this fall when most of Mexico – including Baja California Sur – changes back to Standard Time on Sunday, October 31st while most of the U.S. and northern border states of Mexico wait to make the change until Sunday, November 7th.

Pressure to make Daylight Savings Time permanent

Several U.S. states are in the process of trying to move to Daylight Savings time on a permanent basis.

In 2018, California voters approved a ballot initiative to end the biannual changing of the clock when they overwhelmingly passed a ballot measure allowing the state to adopt daylight-saving time year-round.

To become law, the measure requires two-thirds of the state Senate and Assembly to approve of moving to permanent daylight-saving time, then the governor and eventually Congress to sign off on the switch.

Those wheels have been moving slowly but were recently boosted by a bipartisan group of U.S. senators supporting the effort to do away with the twice yearly clock changes altogether.

Under the “Sunshine Protection Act of 2021,” daylight saving time would be made permanent and the majority of the U.S. — Hawaii and parts of Arizona already don’t observe the time changes — would not have to “fall back” come again November.

Nuclear Reactor be coming to Baja California is possible

The legislation was introduced Tuesday by Sens. Marco Rubio, R-Florida, James Lankford, R-Oklahoma, Roy Blunt, R-Missouri, Sheldon Whitehouse, D-Rhode Island, Ron Wyden, D-Oregon, Cindy Hyde-Smith, R-Mississippi, Rick Scott, R-Florida, and Ed Markey, D-Massachusetts.

“The call to end the antiquated practice of clock changing is gaining momentum throughout the nation,” Rubio noted in a news release announcing the bipartisan effort.

So far, 15 states have seen similar laws, resolutions, or voter initiatives approved to make DST permanent, according to the release. Those states are: Arkansas, Alabama, California, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Louisiana, Maine, Ohio, Oregon, South Carolina, Tennessee, Utah, Washington and Wyoming.

So we are left wondering how Mexico would react to the change across the border and if the northern border states would align with the permanent change to Daylight Savings, maintain the current patterns or fall back to change with the rest of Mexico on the old system?

I hardly wear a watch anymore and will just continue to let the sound of the surf and the singing birds outside decide what time I should get up…

Border Wall contruction halted by Joe Biden - tear it down or leave it?

Leave a comment...

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles